RSS

Week 1

21 Jul

Hello mom so it turns out I sent my first email upon arrival to the wrong email address.  Yikes, sorry,  I probably totally freaked you out. My bad, I love you though, so remember that.

Well I can’t believe I have been out here for a week already.  It seems like I was lost in Atlanta just yesterday.

Spanish is pretty hard, but I think I’m having some success. Well I hope. So when I got to the MTC or in Spanish its called the CCM, there wasn’t room for a lot of missionaries, so we are staying at the Cantra or the Mission Home. So, it is actually really cool, its the old Swiss Embassy. It’s a really big house.

Where I sleep

Where I sleep

Apartment above the garage at the Mission Home

Apartment above the garage at the Mission Home

My room is above the garage and its pretty cool. We share the room with another companionship. Elder Tacuri who is from Ecuador he’s a little guy. Then there is his companion Elder Gonzolaz from Colombia. These guys are amazing. I realized how “mean” Americans are or may seem, these kids will do anything for me. They also speak like no English so each day we can share more and more information about ourselves and actually get to get to know each other.

View from our apartment above the garage at the mission home.

View from our apartment above the garage at the mission home.

My Companion Elder Christensen

My Companion Elder Christensen

Now to my companion Elder Christensen… What a kook. He is about 5´10 or 5´9 but weighs probably about 210 pounds he’s a big kid and he’s from Utah. He is a military guy, so he’s kind of a weird dude, but we get along pretty well.   He is very unathletic. We get to exercise every morning for about 40 minutes. We go for a run (when I say run I mean he falls way behind) so what we started doing was run around 2 blocks so each lap is probably 3/4 of a mile. So I run 4 a day. But elder Christensen usually does about 1 and then sits on the corner and waits for me. Its kind of funny.
Good news is at the Cantra we have a mamita. NO DOING LAUNDRY FOR ME. She does laundry 3 times a week and its honestly so nice.

So at the MTC we stay in a class all day with my district. The kids in it are pretty cool. But mostly only 4 are cool so only half the district is cool. We have two elders who are paired together and are literally the twin towers Elder Barlow the Black one is 6´8 and Elder Johnson is 6´6 but they are super cool and fun to play basketball with. Both will go and play in college. But my favorite kid is Elder Nelson we are two peas in a pod everyone calls us pololo (boyfriend) He’s a kid I would be friends with outside the mission, a pretty cool guy.

Learning time at the MTC

Learning time at the MTC

Street view

Street view

From left to right Elder Erickson, Elder Keiffer (Super annoying), Elder Christensen, Cha Boi Chindl3r, Elder Nelson (My Boy) Elder Rire (District leader) Elder Johnson, Elder Barlow

From left to right Elder Erickson, Elder Keiffer (Super annoying), Elder Christensen, Cha Boi Chindl3r, Elder Nelson (My Boy) Elder Rire (District leader) Elder Johnson, Elder Barlow

The food here isn’t good but today we were able to go and explore and I got empanadas and they were so good.

SAM_0067 SAM_0061 SAM_0077 SAM_0069

Gotta go now.

Here are some pictures Love you all
Love you so much mom
shout out to the NUB SQUAD Cha Bois
Keep it real Alec and Coulson and don’t do things I wouldn’t do

IMG_5898

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 21, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
